Loading Events

Spiritual Gathering with Laura Skaggs Dulin

November 19
4:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Pacific

See event description for registration information.

Laura Skaggs Dulin is a co-creator of C.W.E.E.R.S.: groups designed to help LGBT+ individuals and their supporters confront social discrimination and internalized stigma. She holds a master’s degree in marriage and family therapy from San Diego State University where she specialized in multicultural competence, trauma and LGBT+ experiences in conservative social contexts. She currently sees clients at Encircle LGBT Youth and Family Resource Center in Provo, UT and at the Spanish Fork Center for Couples and Families.

Laura began serving on the Affirmation Board of Directors just following the November 2015 policy change and has assisted with the community’s response to trauma ever since. Presently, she is also a co-producer on the Far Between documentary project: an upcoming film exploring what it’s like to be Mormon and gay.

In this Affirmation Spiritual Gathering presentation, Laura will specifically address how we as LGBT+ Mormons/former Mormons and straight supporters can approach dealing with the oppression, discrimination and internalized stigma that can show up in our day to day lives. Drawing on her work as a mental health professional, life experiences as a queer Mormon and recent experiences living abroad in Cape Coast, Ghana, Laura will focus in on how we can improve our well-being by consciously practicing skills to dispel negative messages sent about LGBT+ people and also learning to speak our personal truths from a place of both empowerment and empathy. Self-care and resiliency skills to deal with potential backlashes will also be discussed.

CONNECTION INFORMATION (Feel free to copy and share this link with others!!)

Topic: Spiritual Gathering
Time: Nov 19, 2017 5pm Pacific, 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/713776112

Or iPhone one-tap :
US: +16465588656,,713776112# or +16699006833,,713776112# 


Or Telephone:
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
US: +1 646 558 8656 or +1 669 900 6833
Meeting ID: 713 776 112


International numbers available: https://zoom.us/zoomconference?m=hpP-Q8vPSqe3GsdoBGbrt7qfdV4DzPXT

Have a question or comment?

Questions or comments about this event should be directed to event organizer by email using the form below.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

2019 Affirmation International Conference

There’s still time to register for the 2019 Affirmation International Conference being held June 21-23 in Provo, Utah. You won’t want to miss the incredible speakers and workshops we have planned for you this year. Plus we still have special rates for couples and families!

More Info and Registration