Mortensen Award

Within every organization, there are individuals, or couples, whose leadership, skills, commitment, and service make a real difference in the lives of others and further the mission of the organization. This is especially true in Affirmation.

Each year, members of the Affirmation community have the opportunity to nominate Affirmation members who have significantly and positively impacted the lives of those within the Affirmation to receive the Mortensen Award during the Affirmation International Conference.

This award is named in honor of Paul Mortensen, who was the first to receive it. Paul was one of the founders of Affirmation. He passed away in late 2021. He was a staunch supporter of Affirmation until the end.

The Mortensen Award Committee is now seeking nominations for the 2022 Mortensen Award.

Criteria for Nominees

Nominees should be:

  1. Someone who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service within Affirmation.
  2. A member of Affirmation dedicated to working to achieve the goals of Affirmation.
  3. A person making a difference in the lives of others.
  4. An individual who is a self-starter and a motivator of others.

Think about the people you know who are working within Affirmation who have impressed you or inspired you and nominate them to be considered for this award.

How to Make a Nomination

Use the form on this page to provide the Mortensen Award Committee with the information they need to select the Mortensen Award winner. Optionally, you may also submit a letter or additional information, like news articles, showing the true character of your nominee for the committee to consider.

With how expansive Affirmation's communities are, it is likely members of the Mortensen Award Committee are not personally aware of the impact that many are making in your local Affirmation communities or online. Please be as detailed as possible in the answers you provide on the nomination form.

How a Winner is Selected

The selection will be made by a committee of past Mortensen Award recipients.


Questions about this award can be sent using the form on this page.

Nominations for the 2022 Affirmation Mortensen Award must be submitted no later than August 30, 2022.