Skip to content

A Call for 2015 Mortensen Award Nominations


July 26, 2015


Paul Mortensen (right) with his husband Robert Jacobs in 2008

Mortensen Award Nomination DEADLINE: August 8

It is time once again to call for nominations for Affirmation’s highest honor, the Mortensen Award. The award is named after one of the founders of Affirmation, Paul Mortensen, and is presented each year at our annual conference to a member of Affirmation who has served the organization in outstanding leadership and service during the past year.

The criteria for selecting a nominee should be:

    1. Someone who is dedicated to the goals of Affirmation and has worked toward achieving them.
    2. Someone who has shown outstanding leadership and service.
    3. Someone who is a self-starter and a motivator of others
    4. Someone who is making a difference in the lives of others.

We ask that you look all around in Affirmation to find those outstanding individuals and then submit your nominations to the selection committee. The nomination should be in the form of a letter describing the individual and listing all the reasons this individual is qualified and should be selected.

Do not submit just a name. We need to know something about the individual since the committee may not know her/him well.

An individual may only be a recipient of the award once. Former recipients are:

Paul Mortensen
Cliff Barnes*
Ina Mae Murray*
Irwin Phelps*
Ron Kershaw*
Larry Gates
Rick Fernandez
Terri LaGuisa & Jackie Riedeman
James Kent
Duanne Jennings
Ricky Gilbert
David Johnson
Henry Miller
Alan Blodgett
Scott Mackay
Olin Thomas
Ben Jarvis
Mike Miner
Hugo Salinas
Bruce Leguas Contreras
James Morris & Aaron Vinck
Jason Giles
Bruce Maughan
David Melson*
Fred Bowers
Randall Thacker
John Gustav-Wrathall

The nominations must be received by August 8, 2015 Email them to Ricky Gilbert, chair of Mortensen Awards Committee. Please do not send copies to anyone else.

The award recipient will be announced at the Affirmation Conference in Provo, Utah. The selection committee is made up of past recipients of the award. Be sure to show this letter to everyone in your area. You may be the one who should be nominated but you may not nominate yourself.

If you have any questions, contact Ricky Gilbert. We look forward to seeing you at the 2015  Conference in Provo, Utah, which is certainly going to be a great event. Please start thinking about this award today and get your nomination in tomorrow.

(*Names marked with an asterisk are deceased.)

Leave a Comment

Scroll To Top