Skip to content

Call for 2018 Mortensen Award Nominations

Ron Schow 2017 Mortensen Award Recipient
Ron Schow 2017 Mortensen Award Recipient

May 18, 2018

Ron Schow 2017 Mortensen Award Recipient

Ron Schow 2017 Mortensen Award Recipient

Affirmation is entering its fifth decade of existence as a vibrant and diverse organization spread across the country and the globe. This has been possible due to the efforts of many people over the years. Among these are some whose contributions to the organization and our community stand out as exemplary. Without these key figures, we would not be where we are today. Each year we try to recognize them and honor their achievement. The Mortensen Award was established to recognize outstanding leadership and service within Affirmation. It is the highest honor Affirmation can bestow upon an individual member. As we approach our annual International Conference, we call upon all members and supporters of Affirmation to nominate candidates for this award for 2018. It will be presented at the conference in Salt Lake City in July.

The criteria for selecting a nominee should be:

  1. Someone who has demonstrated outstanding leadership & service.
  2. A member of Affirmation dedicated to its goals and working to achieve them.
  3. A person making a difference in the lives of others.
  4. An individual who is a self-starter and a motivator of others.

Please think about who has impressed you within Affirmation and submit a nomination letter to the selection committee. The letter should not only name the person, but list the reasons this person is special and should be selected for recognition. The selection will be made by a committee of past award recipients, so please be very descriptive in your nomination, as we may not have had the privilege of knowing the nominee. Spread the word about this among your friends in Affirmation so no worthy candidate is over-looked. You may include news articles or supporting documents as well. Also, please be sure to include your name and contact information so we can contact you for more information if needed.

Send nomination letters to:

Olin Thomas
Chair of the Mortensen Award Committee

— via email —
[email protected]

— or via postal mail —
69 Fendall Ave, Alexandria, VA, 22304

We ask that you not send copies of your letter to anyone else, or publish it in any way. It is a nice surprise at the conference for people to hear they’ve been nominated. Also, the committee would like to make a selection based on the facts without any social media involvement.

Submit nominations at any time, but no later than June 20, 2018. Think of this not only as a nomination for the most valuable player of the past year (which it could be) but also as a lifetime achievement award. If you have questions, feel free to contact Olin Thomas by email or phone 703-864-5527 (texts or voice). Hope to see you (and your nominees) in Salt Lake City in July!

Leave a Comment

Scroll To Top