Skip to content

Cristina Moraes Receives 2020 Affirmation Mortensen Award

Cristina Moraes
Cristina Moraes

October 16, 2020

Cristina Moraes

Cristina Moraes

The Affirmation Mortensen Award is given annually to individuals serving within Affirmation: LGBTQ  Mormons, Families & Friends whose leadership, commitment to service, and inspiring example makes a real difference in the lives of others and in the mission of the organization. Each year, this award is presented during the Affirmation International Conference. While this conference was virtual this year, the Mortensen Award Committee was determined to carry on the tradition of presenting the award.

This award is named in honor of Paul Mortensen, the first person to receive it and one of the founders of Affirmation. It is Affirmation’s highest honor for an individual member.  To be considered for the award, you must be nominated by a fellow Affirmation member. A call for nominations is issued each year prior to the conference. The selection committee is composed of all past award recipients.

The 2020 recipient of the Affirmation Mortensen Award is Cristina Moraes. Cristina has been leading Affirmation in Brazil for over four years and has helped hundreds of LGBTQ Mormons come into Affirmation. She was one of the founding members of Affirmation in Brazil almost five years ago. She has given literally thousands of hours of service to Affirmation and has traveled all over Brazil helping organize conferences, meetings, and events in various cities. She has served on Affirmation’s Board of Directors for three years and has been diligently involved in various board initiatives and activities. Cristina has traveled to the United States three times to participate in board meetings and has also traveled to Argentina and Chile to help with the groups there. This is the fourth year that she has been nominated for the Mortensen award – a clear sign of her sustained service to our community.

Watch the presentation of the 2020 Affirmation Mortensen Award and remarks from Cristina Moraes’ by playing the video below.

Other nominees this year include Justis Tuia, Gustavo Pernicone, Carlos Castillo Casas, Troy Mitchell, Laurie Lee Hall, Jairo Fernando González Díaz, and Francisco Villalobos.

Leave a Comment

Scroll To Top