Skip to content

Mortensen Award Call for Nominations – 2020

Ron y Sue Raynes Afirmación 2019 Conferencia Internacional Premio Mortensen
Sue and Ron Raynes, 2019 Mortensen Award Recipients

July 12, 2020

Ron and Sue Raynes 2019 Affirmation International Conference Mortensen Award

Sue and Ron Raynes, the recipients of the 2019 Mortensen Award at the 2019 Affirmation Annual International Conference in Provo, UT.

Within every organization, there are individuals, or couples, whose leadership skills and commitment to service to others combine in such a way that they make a real difference in the lives of others and in the mission of the organization. Affirmation has such individuals, and we would like to recognize and honor them. Each year, should a suitable candidate be nominated, an award for outstanding leadership and service is presented at the annual conference. This award is named in honor of Paul Mortensen, the first to receive it and one of the founders of Affirmation, and is the highest honor Affirmation can bestow upon an individual member. We call upon all members and supporters of Affirmation to nominate worthy candidates for this award for 2020.

The criteria for selecting a nominee should be:

  1. Someone who has demonstrated outstanding leadership & service,
  2. A member of Affirmation dedicated to its goals and working to achieve those goals,
  3. A person making a difference in the lives of others,
  4. An individual who is a self-starter and a motivator of others.

Please consider those you know who are working within Affirmation and submit a nomination letter to the selection committee. The letter should not just name the individual but list all the reasons this individual is qualified and why you think they should be selected. The selection will be made by a committee of past recipients of this award. Because Affirmation has spread around the world and exists in many forms (in person, social network, etc.), we don’t know personally all our fellow members or supporters, so please be as detailed as you can. You may include other news articles or supporting documents as well. Also, please be sure to include your name and contact information, so we can contact you for more information if needed.

Nomination letters should be sent to: Olin Thomas, chair of the Mortensen Awards Committee. Email them to him at [email protected], or by US Mail to 69 Fendall Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304. We ask that you not send copies of your letter to anyone else within Affirmation, or publish it in any way. It is a nice surprise at the conference for people to hear they’ve been nominated, and the committee would like to make a selection based on the facts rather than a media blitz. However, please distribute this call for nominations to everyone you know within Affirmation.

Please submit nominations promptly, but no later than July 31, 2020. This has been a most unusual year, and the pandemic has disrupted Affirmation both locally and globally. Consider members who have helped the organization and its members through these tough times. However, this is not just a nomination for the most valuable player of the past year. Look at it as a lifetime achievement award. Consider all your nominee has done for Affirmation and our community – then write it down and send it to us!

If you have any questions, feel free to contact Olin Thomas, by email or phone 703-864-5527. The nominees will be recognized and the award announced during our virtual conference in September.

Leave a Comment

Scroll To Top